Fountain of Youth

While I was at the Seminole Hard Rock Cafe, I was browsing their drink menu and a few words caught my eye. Basil, agave nectar, and coconut water. Basil in a drink? I have to try this. The drink is called The Fountain of Youth. It has basil, lime, agave nectar, coconut water, and Absolut Berri Acai. I ordered this deliciousness of a cocktail. It looked almost like a Mojito…you know…a salad in a glass. Pieces of basil, coconut pulp, and basil all floating and blending together in the berry vodka.

It was love at first sip. So refreshing and sweet. It was so smooth that I didn’t even notice how quick it disappeared. I just couldn’t wait to get home and make it myself.

So here we go.

Start out with some fresh cut lime and a few pieces of basil. Put in a cocktail glass of your choice. If you have one, use a muddler to crush the basil and lime to release the basil oils and lime juice. I use the back of a spoon to smoosh it all up.

20110914-081201.jpg

Then add 2 tsp of Agave Nectar.

20110914-081139.jpg

A shot (more or less) of Absolut Berri Acai Vodka.

20110914-081154.jpg

And then 4 oz of coconut water. I usually drink the unsweetened version but I needed pulp and some added sugar for the drink so I went with this brand.

20110914-081146.jpg

Stir it all up and add some ice. I used this glass to make a nice picture but I recommend using a bigger glass that you can put a straw in. This drink deserves to be sipped gently through a straw.

20110914-081258.jpg

If there is a real Fountain of Youth, I sure hope it tastes like this. Enjoy!

20110914-081548.jpg

“There is a fountain of youth: it is your mind, your talents, the creativity you bring to your life and the lives of people you love. When you learn to tap this source, you will truly have defeated age.”

–Sophia Loren

Leave a Reply

