Drunk Taters

In creating this blog, one of my goals was to find ways to save money.

I visit other sites daily looking for deals and coupons that my family can use. So far, the amount of time I spend on the computer has been beneficial. A few weeks ago I found out that Outback was giving away free dinners (for a limited time) if I just signed up on their website. Check it out…I got the free meal card in the mail yesterday.

20110913-045611.jpg

I also find products that my family uses and I email the companies how I feel about their products. I recently emailed Marantha letting them know how much I enjoy their almond butter. They sent me a very nice letter back along with two $1.00 off coupons.

20110913-045604.jpg

Being on a budget can be difficult so I’m always on the lookout on ways to save my family money. I hope some of my ideas can help your family too.

—–On to Beer Soaked Sweet Potato Fries—–

When I found the Pumpkinhead Ale in the store, it made me think of Sweet Potatoes. Then the idea of sweet potato fries turned on a light bulb in my head but my mind didn’t stop there. What about pumpkin infused sweet potato fries? I already had the beer in my cart so I figured that I’d try to not be ordinary by just drinking the beer and eating the fries. I decided on soaking the cut up potatoes in my beer.

Let the soaking begin!

I started by slicing the potatoes lengthwise.

20110913-044928.jpg

Then I opened up a beer, took a few swigs, and poured the beer over the potatoes.

20110913-044923.jpg

I let them soak for an half an hour. While my potato friends were getting drunk, I opened another beer for myself. Have I told you yet how much I love the flavor of this stuff?

20110913-044916.jpg

After the soaking, I drained the taters and then added olive oil, salt, and pepper and coated them till they were coverd. I spread them on a baking sheet…

20110913-065006.jpg

and baked them at 425 for about an hour.

The cooked drunk taters came out looking like this.

20110913-065000.jpg

I could taste the beer flavor coming through in each bite.
Even Tyler wanted to try one!

20110913-064951.jpg

It’s actually not the only thing he wanted to try…

20110913-071319.jpg

Not yet kid! You’ve got a long way to go. 🙂

Tomorrow… I remake the drink I had at Hard Rock Cafe called The Fountain of Youth. See you then!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lourdes tootiredmoms.com
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 23:18:02

    I am the same way…all about deals and coupons for my family! Love nut butter! And, had no idea on the outback deal…I must check this out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

