Thanksgiving In A Bottle

Todd and I finally got a night to ourselves while my Mom watched Tyler. Pumpkin Beer! Here we come!

20110909-032111.jpg

We went to a local bar called Brass Tap which is right down the road from us. Brass Tap is a beer bar that has over 300 different beers along with cigars and wine. Their selection includes bottled and draft beers.

20110909-031615.jpg

I was delighted when the bartender said that they carried Shipyard’s Pumpkinhead Ale.

 

The first sip was sheer pumpkin pie heaven. The sublte spices left my mouth feeling like a Thanksgiving desert. Hints of cinnamon, nutmeg, and pumpkin caressed my throat while the aroma filled my whiffer. This beer went down fast.

 

 

 

20110909-032127.jpg

Once I finished the Pumpkinhead, I decided to try another pumpkin flavored beer. I went with Weyerbacher Imperial Pumpkin Ale. This ale did not fancy my taste buds. It was a darker, sweeter, caramelly beer. The after taste was not pleasant and it kind of tasted soapy. I was disapointed that the 8% ABV ale wasn’t as pleasurable as the Shipyard. But you win some and then you lose some.

At least the pumpkin flavored beer gave me a taste of Fall which is quickly on its way. Good bye hot, smeltering, humid weather. Bring on the cool brisk air! Fill my tastebuds with the spices of the season!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen Rothmeyer (EmSun)
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 22:27:48

    I just drove past Shipyard not that long ago (isn’t it in Wisconsin?). Your night out sounds FABULOUS. 🙂

    Reply

    • tylersmom11
      Sep 09, 2011 @ 22:36:54

      Hmmmmm I’m not sure. There’s one in Winter Park, FL. I’ve never been but I’d sure like to go.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

