Apricot Fig Glazed Pork Chops

Finally! After cough drop after cough drop, aspirins every 4 hours, and Nyquil every night, I finally feel 75% better. I was able to get up early this morning and eat the breakfast I made the night before. OOIAJ! Overnight oats in a jar!! I’ve read so many other bloggers raving about this and had the opportunity to try it after scraping the last tid bits of our Skippy jar.

20110830-115008.jpg
I combined oats, almond milk, blueberries, and cinnamon and stashed it away in the fridge overnight. I woke up early this morning and breakfast was waiting for me.

20110830-115315.jpg
I was a bit apprehensive about the whole idea of it but was surprised at the peanut buttery yumminess in almost every bite. Let’s just say I ate the whole thing and I can’t wait till the next peanut butter jar is empty again.
I’m shocked at the simplicity of the whole thing. And being a relatively new sleep deprived mom…simplicity freaking rocks. You can now add me to the OOIAJ fan club.

Tyler has been teething the past few days. Poor little guy… The doctor said to give him Tylenol but I don’t want to do that too often. I’m pretty sure our bodies become immune to medications if we use them too frequently. So I read up on some info about teething online and heard frozen celery aids in the teething dilemma. We tried it and Tyler seemed to like the feeling of it.

For lunch today I had toast with Laughing Cow Spreadable Cheese and a sliced tomato. I adore spreadable cheeses. They make my taste buds smile.

Todd pondered for about 2 hours on what he wanted for dinner. It first started off with steaks. Then switched to pork chops. Then to seafood and finally back to pork chops. I was happy with his decision because I wanted to use the figs I still had in the fridge. While he prepped the choppys, I made a apricot fig glaze for them. Out came a saucepan…and …

20110831-122955.jpg
Apricot preserves, Ginger paste, Braggs,

20110831-123133.jpg
Figs, cinnamon, cayenne pepper, and red pepper flakes.
I let the flavors simmer together…

20110831-123457.jpg
While these bad boys (dusted in cayenne pepper and cinnamon) cooked on the grill.

20110831-123851.jpg
All this cooking made us thirsty so we sipped on this…

20110831-124019.jpg
Oh I can’t forget our sweet potato fries… Cut up, put on a pan covered in coconut oil then drizzled with olive oil, and sprinkled with more cayenne pepper, salt, sugar, and cinnamon.
Perfection…

20110831-124312.jpg
Dinner is served!

20110831-124400.jpg
The sweet apricot fig glaze met the spiciness of the cayenne in a clash that is indescribable. These were the tastiest pork chops I’ve sank my teeth into.
My palate is more than satisfied. A couple more beers to wash it all down and Im off to watch a movie with Todd. See ya mañana.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica @ Sushi & Sit-Ups
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 19:49:10

    Sounds like a delicious meal! I love anything with a fruity glaze. Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

