Get Figgy With It

Hi there… I’m behind on my blog because I caught the nasty dreaded head cold. Todd claims that it’s because of all the healthy food I eat. Ppppphhhhh! Men!

I’ve been laying low and trying to rest. Kind of hard with a 5 month old. I sure hope he doesn’t catch this cold. He’s teething and I don’t want to add any more misery to the poor little guy.

Figs are buy one get one free at Publix this week. I’ve never had them outside of their Newton clothing.

I decided to get the Sierra and the Black Mission varieties to try. They are so yummy. I prefer the Black Mission. They seem sweeter and less gummy than the Sierra variety. I had some for breakfast to go along with my almond butter toast.

20110827-030451.jpg

I found a few smoothie recipes that I’m going to try tonight.

Banana-Fig Smoothie
– 2 bananas, peeled
– 3 fresh figs
– 2 handfuls of fresh baby spinach or other leafy green
– 4-6 ounces of water
You can also add strawberries, peaches or nectarines for a different flavor.

Figgy-Peach
– 1 large organic peach, pitted
– 3 fresh figs
– 2 handfuls of fresh baby spinach or other leafy green
– 4-6 ounces of water

Until then… I’ll be popping cold meds till the sniffling and sneezing stops.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica @ Sushi and Sit-Ups
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 02:45:02

    Feel better! I’ve never cooked with figs either. I’m sure the recipes will be delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

