Thirsty Thursday

Waking up with a sore throat is a major bummer, therefore today I’m bummy. I slept way late today. Todd had morning shift thank goodness.

20110825-034050.jpg

I woke up around lunch time and had the muesli I made last night for today’s breakfast. It was really good and since I was really hungry there is no picture. I mixed 1/4 cup of rolled oats, 1/2 cup almond milk, chopped almonds, chia seeds, and my home-made applesauce which consisted of 1 apple, cinnamon, and water stewed in a pot until tender. Once all that was mixed in a bowl, I threw it in the fridge and let it soak while I slept. This might be a morning breakfast ritual but next time I’ll throw in some extra fruit to garnish the top.

For lunch, I made pasta. I sautéed a plum tomato, red and green peppers, onion, mushrooms, and garlic with coconut oil while my whole wheat pasta shells were boiling. Once the veggies were tender and the pasta al dente, I mixed it all together, added organic parm cheese and a few slices of mozzarella. YUM and FRESH!

I’m craving hot and cold beverages today to coat my throat. I made some fresh juice with carrots, apples, celery, spinach, grapes, and a pluot. I love fresh juice but I’m not crazy about the mess it makes. I’m in the market for a nice juicer. Right now I have a Hamilton Beech model and I’m not thrilled with it. There are so many parts to it and it makes it difficult to clean. 8 oz of juice = 30 minutes of chopping , juicing, and cleaning. Todd walked to the fridge, poured a cup of OJ and said “Look I made myself juice.” Nice Todd… really nice! He tasted mine and decided he didn’t want to jump on my fresh juicing band wagon. That’s okay, I’ll ride it alone. My Dad loves juicing so he and I text back and forth about our concoctions. He makes juice with beets which I have yet to try. Apparently you are only supposed to add small amounts of beets to your diet at at time. He learned the hard way about that. Beet juice has a strong effect on the digestive tract. Eeeek!

20110825-034103.jpg

After the juicing extravaganza, I pureed Tyler some yum yums. I started with an avocado.

20110825-034115.jpg

I used 3/4 of the avocado and 1/4 cup of baby water and put it in the Baby Bullet.

I got this….Ta Da!

20110825-035128.jpg

Baby yum yums!

20110825-035136.jpg

20110825-035142.jpg

Since that was so much fun, I pureed a banana.

20110825-035149.jpg

Now I have a weeks worth of baby food to get Tyler started on solids. Woot Woot!!

All that pureeing made me thirsty so I’m now coating my throat with a cold refreshing coconut water.

20110825-035156.jpg

The rest of the day is not going to be so healthy… Since my Dad texted me a picture of him eating nachos and watching the Tampa Bay Rays, it inspired Todd and I to go get some chips to also make nachos. Ours will be topped with chicken, cheese, refried beans, salsa, jalapeño peppers, and black olives. And to wash it all down…Landshark Beer.

Laundry calls and then I’ll be looking online for some coupons and freebies. I’ll post what I find on my deals page. See you later!

Leave a Reply

