Creating a Miracle

I learned and grew a lot while facing the C word. Many struggles were faced but I became a stronger person and met many new people throughout the journey. I even met a great fun-loving guy at a breast cancer fundraiser. I had been getting sick in the beginning of August of 2010. I would drink coffee and 10 minutes later it would make an appearance again. I started to think that my body did not like coffee in the morning. Little did I know it was a little baby inside me who didn’t like coffee. I went to the Doctor one day for other reasons and he did a urine test. He came in the room and asked if there was any chance I could be pregnant. I assured him no there was not. He asked me again and I said no. The Doctor laughed and said…Well you are.

Um…What? No I’m not…I am? Really? I didn’t believe him so I went to have a blood test at the hospital and guess what? The Doctor was right. I was 4 weeks pregnant. I was so shocked and still in disbelief. I made an appointment with my Gyn and I had an ultrasound a few days later and saw what looked to be a tadpole. I even asked the Gyn if she was sure that was a baby growing because I still didnt believe I was able to create a life. Again she assured me that I was indeed pregnant!

20110807-092036.jpg

Miraculously I was creating a life inside me. Before I started chemo, I froze my eggs because of the risks chemo has on the reproductive system. Then about a month before I found out I was pregnant I even thought I was going to have to remove my ovaries because I had been diagnosed with endometriosis and the pain was becoming unbearable. I started to think that I would never have children. I always wanted children and now my dream was a reality. Good thing my Gyn kept postponing the surgery.

I had a good pregnancy but with it came a lot of weight gain. I didn’t eat healthy foods. I had lost my job a few weeks before I found out I was pregnant so money wasn’t easy to come by. The doctors kept assuring me that the baby was growing perfectly and he was healthy. A few weeks before my due date we found out that our little monkey was breech. He never made the flip because he was so big inside me so we scheduled a c-section for April 7.

I delivered a beautiful healthy 8lb 10oz baby boy at 7:53am on 4/7/11. He is the love of my life and I can’t imagine my life without him in it. I never would have imagined being in this place and going through such an incredible journey…but here I am…here we are. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

